top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Marie

Choosing An Aesthetic

Updated: Aug 5, 2020

When choosing the colors and design inspiration for our home the most important thing to us was the adaptability of the space. When living in our small apartment we wanted to go bold and chose yellow pops of color to accent our home. I loved it... for about three months, and just like that I was over my permanent choices.

In our new Oakwood Home we decided to go with a color scheme that was easily adaptable and neutral. When picking out our core pieces in the Design Center we loved how lighter colors really brighten up and open up spaces. We chose all white cabinets, white countertops, and the lightest cool colored wood LVP flooring to make our space feel larger. Our home already had high ceilings and long windows that really expand the size rooms.


I tend to love softer and unique/corky things while my husband gravitates towards modern and industrial edged designs. Combining the two is all in the details. The majority of the choices we made in the Design Center went along with the softer and lighter space I was leaning towards. The more modern and edgy inspiration we have added in accents of black walls and decor.

I think that my favorite part of coming up with an aesthetic for our home was combining both my husband's interest and mine. I love seeing the blend of us come together into a space that will be shared by us for years to come.


(This is just a sneak peak of how our bedroom is coming together! For more photos and design inspiration follow me on Instagram @SOPHMB_)


When choosing a "feel" for your new home I recommend considering these things:

  • What do you naturally gravitate towards when shopping at home decor stores?

  • Is what you are currently liking just a "trend" or something you could enjoy in 2-4 years?

  • Can you achieve your vision in a budget savvy way?

  • Will your inspiration be cohesive throughout the entire home or different room by room?

  • What fun/bold choice can you make to make your home exciting and unique for you and others to enjoy?


As always thanks for reading! I hope this inspired you in some way today to create a space that is a little more enjoyable for yourself. When our spaces are pleasing to our eye it also sparks positive intentions and emotions inside us. Can't wait to talk with you soon!

-Sophia Marie



224 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page