top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Marie

How Do Adults Make Friends?

There's a point in everyone's adult life when we realize that things have drastically shifted- Whether that time be when you graduate college and start your career, or you move away from home, or even after you get married. There's a moment when we all accept that the past is behind us and there is a fresh new path ahead. When we enter into these "new seasons" sometimes we do or don't take our friend with us. How do we continue to make new friends in our new seasons of life?


This is a common theme I have found many women, and men, are struggling with but not talking about. If you have followed me for some time you know that I met and married my husband in a crazy short amount of time and then move across the country. I felt like I basically started my life from scratch. Now working with brides and meeting so many real, authentic people everyday has helped me realize that so many of you have struggled with this too! (Especially in Colorado Springs when everyone is from everywhere)


Making friends in your adult years can be way more difficult then on the elementary playground especially if you are not wanting to explore bars every night alone. I want to suggest a couple of ideas to you, but before I do I want to express to you that I know how hard a season of friend hunting can be. I don't have all the answers, however I am here if you need someone to talk to!


Here are some creative ways to make friends as an adult:

  1. Join a sports league or group fitness class you can regularly attend. (Familiar faces create easy friendships. Your community might even have some!)

  2. Be open to conversations when you least expect or desire them. (You never know where that conversation may lead- ex. at the grocery store, the gas station, with a friendly waitress, and in your workplace.)

  3. Be the person to ask- even if you get burned. (Ask acquaintances if they want to do something fun or try something new with you. If they never find the time then that's all right. You won't make friends if you don't step out)

  4. Take time to do the things you enjoy- Focus on yourself. (Most of the time we make friends with like minded people. If you focus on doing what makes you happy you will attract and find yourself surrounded by people who like the same things.)


Hope this encourages you in some way! As always be true to who you are as you find your light and live in it. Until next time - Sophia Marie

135 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page