top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Marie

Dare to Try Something New

Updated: Jan 8, 2020

Alright y’all, we got through another week together! Here's a new challenge for you. I encourage you to try something new this week. Get a jump start on “New Years resolutions”, and by that I mean, DON‘T WAIT! Try those new things you have had

your eye on, but you have been too afraid to do.

Invite a friend to go with you, and just do it! You know you want to. It is healthy for us do new things, even if you cannot find someone to start it with you, just go. Then you can tell them about how much fun or helpful it was for you. It could be a new fitness challenge, a hobby you’ve been really waiting to try, learning a new instrument, or getting better at engaging with strangers. Whatever it is you think you want to try, that will push you to be a better person, DO IT. This is your sign to just go for it.


We are creatures of habit. We like routines. They make us comfortable. While routines are healthy, they can become an addiction if it's all you ever do. We can hold so tightly to our special ways that we lose track of what is important for us and for the people around us. It is beneficial for your mind and body to switch things up. Trying something new will also teach you a lot about yourself and about how you function in new scenarios.


I'm going to share some of my story as brief as I possibly can with you-


I met my husband in Colorado, but I grew up my whole life in Pittsburgh. We did long distance for our entire relationship, and after our wedding I moved to Colorado. My whole life was rapped up in this bubble in Pittsburgh. Everyone I knew had known me so well. I had all of my friends, my home church, and my family there. Everything I had for almost 20 years of my life was stable, regular, and patterned.


Then I moved, and it really impacted me hard. God had to teach me that I needed to trust Him more. I couldn't just rely on who I was anymore when I didn't really have anything of "my own." It was really hard for me to make friends, but for a while I was comfortable sitting at home cooking, cleaning, and figuring out how marriage works. While those things are crucial, I needed to stop making excuses. I have lived here a year now, and I am just finally making bigger steps to change. I have been trying yoga classes to meet people and asking strangers to coffee. Which is completely out of my "norm", yet God has blessed me. He's brought a ton of new opportunities and people into my life.


My point in sharing this is that you never really know what's on the other side until you look. You will never have the things you want if you don't take the steps you need to take. I don't want you to have to wait until a new year to try a new thing. I believe that you can do it now. New is scary, but can be so good for you. Fear is just a lie. You can make the goal. You can achieve it. Just go for it! I dare you.



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page