top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Marie

Finding a “CAREER” in our 20s. 

This blog post has been in the works for a while. It is something that is challenging to write and elaborate on. Becoming an adult is hard. Neither my husband, Jon, or I have finished college and don’t intend to. We have been doing some ministry certifications online but no four year degree. Our long term goal is to be fully submerged into ministry for our work, but we are leaving the logistics of our future up to where God leads us. We want to live our lives open to anything as we walk in obedience.

The idea of “having a career” can be kind of scary when you are living life the way we are - very open ended. Because the very concept of a career is almost like predicting the future of where you will want to be tomorrow. 


When I got married, and moved to Colorado, I needed my own health care. Starbucks was hiring, and they have health benefits if you commit only 20 hours a week. That was where I worked for the first year and a half of our marriage. I had been looking for a better job for almost 5 months before I got to leave Starbucks. I was thinking something like a receptionist (with benefits), bank teller, or day care coordinator. I applied and had interview after interview. Every time I showed up the job was different from the description posted online. It was a big disappointment.

How I ended up styling at a bridal boutique was completely crazy. I was with my friend as she shopped for her dress and bumped into the owner (my now BOSS!). We exchanged contact info, got lunch, and the rest is history. 

Forcing a career is hard, and looking back I am so glad I didn't take any of those other jobs. Being a bridal stylist is such an exciting and fulfilling “career”. I am in a store where the potential for growth is endless.


Jon, my husband, got connected in customer service at a great bank in the area. He was working hard and climbing his way up when he ended up losing his job this year. Staring from what seems like scratch seriously stinks. Trying to figure out if he should just dive back into banking or try something new was such a back and forth battle. He began banking at another place and is still continuing to look for other opportunities.


This journey is something we are walking through currently.. not looking back on the other side of it and saying, "Remember what that was like?" It is a struggle to find out what you are good at and where you will fit in while making an income.


We have to work.. Right? We need to make money to be married, live life, and own our Oakwood home. Finding a career is such a hard pressure to take on in your 20s. My best wisdom is just to work hard where you are at. Always show up with a good attitude and know that there is purpose in what you do. Be the employee who goes the extra mile instead of just barely doing the minimum. Look into opportunities. Be someone who is open to change and humbling experiences. If you do what you need to do and trust that God will use you where He wants to then you will end up where you need to be. 



No special sauce, just keep grinding and enjoy your life where you are. 

Have fun making your memories! Keep living life in your light. 

Until next time, Sophia Marie



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page