top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Marie

The time we lost our jobs..

The only reason I share my life so in depth on social media is to share the REAL struggles with you too. I started this blog series "The time I.." to share authentic life stories with you so.. strap in folks this story is a bumpy one.


In the year of 2020 everyone struggled at large. I believe we all in some way experience grief and an overwhelming amount of change. At the beginning of the year before all hell broke loose. I was ending a 6 month journey of trying to find a new job in which I enjoyed, could grow in, and get paid more than Starbucks. I had stumbled upon a bridal boutique, I now work at, and got hired three weeks before there was a nationwide shut down.


Naturally when our store shut down I was let go. I had no knowledge of what the future would hold for me at the boutique or where my next job would even be. I started unemployment while vigorously looking for other job opportunities. I lived in 6 weeks of daily uncertainty while remembering in the back of my mind that we had to put our down payment on our first home in a couple months.


I was so grateful for and will never forget the moment I got invited back to my job at the boutique. Things started looking up as Jon and I approached moving into our first home. We moved into our new build from Oakwood Homes in July! We also had purchased a new vehicle right after that. Things were smooth rolling at our jobs and in our home. Until about a month later..


In August my husband lost his job. It was a very sudden and unexpected change, and we were devastated. We had just taken on many more financial burdens and depleted most of our savings on our home. Thus began the search for Jon. He was unemployed for about 5 long weeks. This season of our lives was filled with a lot of prayer and tears as worry crept in deep. He eventually found a job that was OK and then found another new job that better suit his career path about a month later!


Now that about a year has past we are looking back wondering how our lives have completely flipped around. Getting married at 19 has given us some advantages in remembering this.. We will never forget that everything we have worked for and have been gifted has come from God. We have never missed a bill or haven't had the funds we needed when we needed them due to the grace of God. In short.. we have learned that God is our provider and has a way better plan than we could have ever imagine.



Hope this encouraged you in some way today! - Sophia Marie



259 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page