top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Marie

The Grass is Always Greener . . .

The struggle is real when it come to being content with where we are at in life. Life is zooming by and the "next best thing" is always knocking at our door. Accepting who/where we are at in this very moment of life can be a foreign idea to most of us.


Whether you wish your relationship was "more like theirs", or your figure could be thinner than her's there is something within us all that can't help but compare. Now, don't get me wrong, we should never settle for less than we deserve. I am, however, talking about how we never seem to be happy and grateful for the good we do have.


We truly just don't celebrate enough. When something good happens or a season of life is right for us instead of focusing on that we often shift our focus to the next best thing or maybe even the bad we can find in the situation. Being content in the moment takes more than just a "mental self high-five" and moving on. I believe communicating out loud and celebrating that you are blessed is the first step to appreciating life in the now.


I work with women everyday celebrating such an incredible season of life they are in- wedding season. One thing I have noticed that is true of all of us is that we share the outlook that "life would be better if..."

"Life would be better if I was smaller"

"Life would be better if I was curvier"

"Life would be better if I had more money"

"Life would be better if my family wasn't here"

"Life would be better if my family could be here"

I am here to petition that "Life would be better if you celebrated it"


We choose how our brains will perceive the situation. We choose to say to ourselves that we are beautiful, our spouse/significant other is an incredible human, our home serves us well, and our job can bring us joy. When we can catch the words and prevent the complaints from coming out of our mouths, we may be able to step into our lushes green yards and forget for one second about whose grass may be greener.














174 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page