top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Marie

The Time I Left High School

In high school I was unique. I marched to the beat of my own drum.

When I got my license I started to get involved more with the things I was passionate about. I also started my first job as a clerk at a fruit market. Shortly after that I began to volunteer at an after school ministry and my church. Before I knew it both ministries had hired me, and I was working three part time jobs. I loved being apart of other's lives. I felt like what I was doing had such great purpose. So I decided, with most of my credits under my belt, that I would do my junior and senior year of high school online.


This was one of the biggest and best decisions I had ever mad in my life. It was scary to not be like the rest of my friends anymore and have fallen out of the loop. I was nervous to learn online and try to keep myself accountable. I think one of the most challenging parts was not graduating with the friends I grew up with. I was no longer apart of a group, but my own unique person who chose a completely different path. All of it, however, was well worth the experience it gave me and character it built.


So I was a 17 year old who had three part time jobs and was also finishing high school early. Through many mistakes I very quickly learned about time management and gained experience of how to work with people in hard situations. It forced me to root deeper in Christ and remember that He is my source of strength and value. I am so grateful for these lessons I got to learn at a young age because I believe it prepared me for everything that life has offered me now.


I am 20 years old and have been married for a year and a half, moved across the country, and got my dream job as a bridal stylist. We are doing online school to be licensed for ministry and are learning how to build our "home" figuratively and literately as we are about to purchase our first house. If you would have asked me in high school what I expected my life to look like after I graduated I would have never told you this. Surprises are some of the greatest blessing in life.


You never know what life is going to throw your way. But don't be afraid to take a risk because it's not in line with the standards of the world around you. Work hard for the things that bring you joy and roll with the punches that come with trying something new. I know that God has made us each for a specific purpose and design! Be vulnerable about your story you never know who may need to hear. - Sophia Marie

143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page