top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Marie

Tuesday's Tip- Slow it Down

Updated: Jan 8, 2020

Today's tip will correspond with the "dare to" post that will come later this week, but today I want to discuss some tips on how to slow down. It sounds simple, but it is a task that can be seemingly impossible to do for some people, like me.

Do you find yourself spinning in circles by the end of the week, wondering where all of the time went? Me too. I've realized that in my life I'm always thinking about the next thing. So here are some tips on how you can slow down and enjoy your day, even it you're not doing something you enjoy.


1. Take Deep Breaths- Okay, I know this one sounds basic; however, I've found I can't find time to slow down if I don't start with a deep breath and an evaluation of where I'm at.

I started doing this routine when I come home from work, and I've found its really helpful.

I lay on my bed and take 10 really deep breaths before I get changed, eat, or do anything else. It helps me slow down and think clearly about what I have to do next. So, if you're at work, or in school, or just busy remember to clear your mind and take a deep breath.


2. Prioritize- This is important. I am the type of person who will do whatever comes to my mind next. For instance, if I am doing dishes and I remember that I needed to fold the laundry. I will stop doing the dishes and fold the laundry. This sort of habit is bad because it leaves me with a lot of unfinished tasks and, at the end of the day, nothing really accomplished.

Making a physical or mental checklist of what needs to be done and what is actually most important is sooooo helpful in slowing down your day. Because, quite honestly some things can wait for tomorrow, and what might be more important today is that you sit down and do something you enjoy.


3. Schedule "Days"- Schedule "date days", or "me days", or "school days", or "cleaning days" so that you don't have to think about everything everyday. Allow your selected days be the only day that you worry about such tasks (Excluding date day. You should always be dating your spouse).


4. Allow Yourself to Just Be- Wherever Whevever Wherever you are at, Wherever you are, be in the moment. Give your mind permission to stop thinking about the next thing and just be where you are with the people you are with. At the end of the day, this simple action will allow you to remember each feeling you felt and help you know that you really lived in today, giving it your full attention.



My hope is, in reading this, you have been inspired to slow down- to try your best to dwell in each moment. I pray that your week is full of moments of joy, growth, and community.

I'm interested to know how you find time to slow down. Send me a message through this site in the "contact me" portion at the bottom of the page, or send me a direct message on instagram. Have a blessed week!! - Sophia Marie



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page